Korean Americans

Jun ChoiInteresting…while creating another blog for work, I ran over a wikipedia entry for “Korean Americans.” I thought it was interesting that there were some interesting stats about people like me…I guess, a category I belong to very specifically. I didn’t know this before today, but in 2005 there were 1,406,687 of us in I believe the United States. I don’t know if this accounts for people like me who are now in Korea…and I’m sure there are more in other countries throughout the world.

I guess there is also a “Korean American Day.” It is supposedly on January 13th. I guess I’d better start celebrating that day by taking the day off. I wonder what my employers in the US would say. After they told me I was crazy, I’m sure I’d say something like “Why don’t you check out Wikipedia? You know the world or at least Google revolves around Wikipedia!” ^^ or 🙂 depending on what country’s emoticon you want for a smile…

I already knew Margaret Cho (Comedian), Michelle Wie (Golf Phenom), Jay Kim (Politician), Sandra Oh (Actor) and a handful of other prominent KA’s (Korean Americans, that is), but there’s quite a list beyond these folks. I’m wondering why “Brandon Na” or “Byung Na” isn’t on this list though. It’s a bit perplexing.

Well, if you want to learn more about us “special” Korean Americans, follow this link…

Leave a comment

Filed under Kyopo life

Leave a Reply

