Kim Bop Jeebps

Phoenetically, it’s hard to say if it’s “Chip” or “Jip” or “Jeeb” or whatever…the “b” sound sometimes has a little “p” to it as well.

Regardless, I’ve been going to this really good “Kim Bop Jeebp” which is translated literally from Korean to English as a “Dried Seaweed Rice House”, but more realistically, it’s a “Korean sushi restaurant.”  There are a lot of them in Korea and these days are probably the place to eat if you want to save a few won.  Most everything else has inflated to Western standards for prices, if not even beyond compared to the local standard of living.

These restaurants may be considered the equal of an American Diner where you can find almost any Korean dish here including the many forms of “Kim Bop”. They include Kim Bop with ground beef, with Kimchi (Korean Spicy Marinated Nappa Cabbage), with Cheese and periodically with a few different other ingredients special to the restaurant that serves it.

You can also find Rice Cake Soup, Dumpling Soup, usually 5-10 types of Ramen, several Korean stews including the Korean version of Miso which is called “Tenjahng” or Kimchi Stew. Other dishes include curry with rice, various forms of dumpling including friend and steamed, and a kids’ popular dish these days, Pork Cutlet which also has a little variety as well these days coming filled with cheese or otherwise.

Anyway, I thought this would be helpful to explain something that I take for granted daily (maybe for someone traveling into Korea for the first time or someone who is planning on moving here) Usually, these places are about “par” for taste, but I have to admit I am lucky and we got an incredibly good one if front of my work place. It’s called “Kim Bop Heaven” and honestly, it’s pretty close to being “heaven” — despite what I thought it may be like the first time I saw it.

I think I wrote a post a while back about it, but not describing the type of foods there, but rather the work ethic the ladies in the place and the one man exhibit daily. It’s amazing how hard they work…this work ethic is probably the reason why I’m going to start my first business in my life here…like Iacocca said in his recent book “Where Have All the Leaders Gone?”:

“In my forty-eight years in the auto industry, I probably made six hundred speeches about management. Since my retirement, I’ve made many more. And I’ve always said the same thing: ‘Here’s what management is about: Pick good people and set the right priorities.’ … Here’s the thing I learned as a CEO. You succeed or fail based on your team.”

Also, one of the quotes from the book that’s adding to my already inspired mode in life these days is this:

“I’ve had the privilege of living through some of America’s greatest moments. I’ve also experienced some of our worst crises — the Great Depression, World War II….culminating with 9/11. If I’ve learned one thing, it’s this: You don’t get anywhere by standing on the sidelines waiting for somebody else to take action. Whether it’s building a better car or building a better future for our children, we all have a role to play.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Korea life, Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

