Becoming idealistic again…

   For a while there, I was feeling like I was going down the path of cynicism and becoming more conservative as many before me have.  We start out more liberal and idealistic when we are younger and become more cynical and conservative after being knocked down constantly by events in life.

A good example of how we become accepting of many of the terrible things in life is written well by John Perkins in his book “Confessions of an Economic Hit Man:”

“…For me it conjures the image of a soldier. In the beginning, he is naive. He may question the morality of killing other people, but mostly he has to deal with his own fear, has to focus on survival. AFter he kills his first enemy, he is overwhelmed with emotions. He may wonder about the family of the dead man and feel a sense of remorse. But as time goes on and he participates in more battles, kills more people, he becomes hardened. He is transformed into a professional soldier.”

I feel like I was really going down this path of becoming a professional soldier. However, I’ve realized that I don’t have to & I’m not going to. I’m going to jump the ranks of the typical and become one of the special unless something mysteriously stops me on the way. There are too many people in this world who simply just accept the conditions of reality…it takes a bit of effort to truly overcome our daily habits & the ease of just letting things continue to be problems. I don’t want to just sit by and watch…

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

