Speed Doctoring — the “speed dating” of the medical world (the South Korean Medical System)

Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank
Warning: this may be too much information. 🙂

I went to the doctor’s this morning to check on my foot, my heart and well, let’s just say some personal issues. I’ve been needing to tend to these for quite some time. I wish I would of solved my issues with my right foot since birth, but oh well. I always put it off, but recently it’s been hurting. With my heart, I’ve been having a consistent pains that feel like a strain and I wonder if the added stress to my life along with the rough year in 2005 may have done some damage. I feel weaker, my blood circulation is also a bit weak with feelings with numbness in my limbs, hands and feet. I feel a bit tired these days too, but who knows? So, I go to the doctor…

Well, usually, it would take a couple weeks to get an appointment, but it only took 3 days. Typically, I would take maybe 2-3 hours at each place to wait, examine, and diagnose the issues. Instead, it took only 2 hours and 30 minutes for all three issues which included an electrocardiogram and x-rays as well. Typically, we would have to schedule these latter two processes, but I got them scheduled and taken care of in less than 15 minutes. The nurse in the room of like 60 people finally called me after 30 minutes of waiting — which is like 4 hours in the states, it seems for Korea. She brought the blood pressure gauge up to me in the waiting area & conducted the blood pressure test. The doctor’s office must of been too busy to use to do such a minor check.

Each doctor visit lasted no more than 5 minutes. The first one with the private matters lasted literally 3 minutes and 20 seconds. It felt like a factory. However, on the flip side, it was incredibly sanitary and clean in the hospital despite the exterior being a bit run down, the nurses & administrative all were 100% accurate and all records were transferred in a heart beat & not much was computerized or at least they weren’t entering much into their computer terminals. I was thinking something was going to be dropped in the transfer, but it was incredibly amazing.

I did wait 20 minutes for the foot doctor to be available, but since I had to go to work, I decided to go home because a 20 minute wait is too long. What have I turned into? The Korean standard of living with certain things like waits for medical services and eating out is incredibly different from back home. Simply amazing…oh, on top of this, all of this cost me less than $200 for all the above services. Hmmmm…maybe I need to make a Micheal Moorish documentary on this.

3 Comments

Filed under Korea life, Medicine, Random thoughts

3 responses to “Speed Doctoring — the “speed dating” of the medical world (the South Korean Medical System)

  1. SKY

    Personal matter..hahahaha…..that enlargement surgery is going to cost you more than $200. haha

  2. Not as bad as your … o.k., no need to go there. I’ve grown up, whereas you’re still … well, let’s just say I “feel for Stacy…” ha, ha…

  3. Nice post, we offer extremely cheap prices for hosting at bwhost.com
    🙂

Leave a Reply

