Movie Review: Would you kill someone who killed the person you loved the most in life?

thebraveone.jpg
Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Would you kill someone who killed the person you loved the most in life?  It’s a question posed to & immediately answered by Jodie Foster in her latest movie titled “The Brave One.”  I have to admit I didn’t choose to watch this movie.  I went to the theatre earlier tonight (which conveniently happens to be in my building) on the request of a friend of mine who asked if a “movie might cheer me up?”  While I’m not that down, she just thought it may help with the change of seasons which seems to be so drastic here & honestly has been making me feel a little sentimental lately.

Nevertheless, we arrive at the CGV movie theatre to find we only have 4 selections to choose from.  Three of them are Korean and I don’t recognize any of the actors at all.  For some reason, I want to watch something in English today.  So, we end up choosing the one foreign flick.  At first, I thought the title was really stupid & sometimes to me, the title can tell me that not much effort was placed into the movie.  I didn’t realize it was a Jodie Foster flick though which usually, she tries to pick out good screen plays, from what I know.  She’s like Matt Damon when it comes to picking out movies, in my mind.  However, her movies don’t usually make me drop everything to watch them.  At the same time, I don’t think I’ve been ever disappointed with a movie I saw with her. 

After the movie starts & I recognize it’s Foster starring in the movie, I have a bit more hope it won’t be that bad.  It starts off a little cheesy with a pretty dramatic, but predictable scene where her fiance and her get mauled by 3 hoodlums in New York.  However, the rest of the movie is decent & you start to feel supportive for her vigilante justice. 

At the same time, if you step back, is it really o.k. to take the law in our own hands?  When I was watching White Night at the Pusan Film Festival, the main character who killed a drunk who beat his wife was basically portrayed as an innocent man by the end of the movie due to his unfortunate doping or accidental killing of his sister.  In The Brave One, we justify the deaths of 7 people due to abuse of their victims.  While the people Foster killed in the movie weren’t your most innocent people in the world and again, you feel like her shootings were justified…by the end, you almost didn’t even question when she killed the final hoodlum by shooting him in the head with the approval of her newly found friend in the police officer.  It almost feels like the law even will look the other way when it is justified.  So, is it?  

On another note or from an alternative point of view, my friend says the theme of the movie was “to keep on living” after such an event.  She said that the way Foster coped in the movie was to kill someone.  However, my friend said that actually, she could of coped in another manner, but the movie showed how people in life sadly do what is immediately obvious to them: revenge.  She was disheartened by the movie and felt sorry for the character as well as the detective in the film.  

Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Leave a comment

Filed under Interesting..., Reviews

Leave a Reply

