…too much recycling in South Korea?

Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

I’m not talking about the recycling that’s typically associated with the “r” word, but rather when I see Korean dramas, I see the same faces over and over and over…

The lady they used for the distressed single mother in her 40-50’s is constantly used for the same typecasted position from who knows when? The more well off mother of a wholesome Korean family periodically steps away from her role and exchanges with the distressed lady, but rarely. The elderly are even more recycled and some days I wonder how much longer they have in terms of their own age????

It’s not a huge deal especially if Koreans still watch the dramas and the ratings are high enough for the broadcasting companies, but how about letting a few of the faces in. I’m thinking it has something to do with the “respect” part of the culture where people bow down to their predecessors….so much so, they even let their predecessors keep their jobs and the position in line until they croak. Not 100% sure about it, but at this point, I’m looking for some fresh faces…

Then again, I rarely watch ’em so I should be the last one commenting or criticizing. However, I stepped into a Kim bop restaurant today and as usual, they got the t.v. turned onto a recent popular drama. Today, I didn’t have anything to read and so I thought to “practice my Korean skills,” I’d watch as much as I could today. I’ve thought about this before, but this is the first time I’ve publicly mentioned it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, Humorous, Interesting..., Korea life, Opinions, Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

