Blogging = Journalism? This scares me…

Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

I don’t know what to make of this story…

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20071031-can-bloggers-be-journalists-federal-court-says-yes.html

I mean, do I have to start worrying about who I’m linking to or if I’m defaming someone now because this court case set the precedent? If so, there are going to be an awful amount of cases involving random people all throughout the world with all the blogs that are now being published. If it is a risk now to blog, I wonder what will happen to traffic moving forward. Will people still write their candid opinions at the speed which they do?

I definitely won’t be able to publish a post a day, which has been my most recent goal just to keep my writing warm. I know I’ll have to reread posts & do whatever possible to make sure I’m not “defaming anyone” in which they may consider it “malicious” vs. the average joanne or joe who may think it’s vindictive or damaging. Also, linking to other people seems to be discouraged or at least the plaintiff here made the claim. Fortunately, the blogger did win the decision, but who knows what will happen if the next case is presented in front of a conservative group or single judge? Makes you wanna go “hmmmmm….” Eh?

1 Comment

Filed under Business practices, Communications, Interesting reads, Interesting..., My writings, News, Opinions, Random thoughts, Stupid

One response to “Blogging = Journalism? This scares me…

  1. SKY

    I’m sueing!! Defaming me! I guess I have to get in line! hahaha

Leave a Reply

