NaNoWriMo What?

Add this blog to your favorites by clicking on any of the icons:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Well, if you’ve been reading my blog at all, you can tell I’ve been quite active lately. Coincidentally, I’ve noticed that it’s National Novel Writing Month. In short, they call it “NaNoWriMo” or the website which promotes this project is NoNoWriMo.org — I guess having NationalNovelWritingMonth.com was too long…

Anyway, one of the goals for the month is to for “each participant attempts to write a 50,000 word novel in a single month.” Well, this past month, I think I’ve had my most active month of blogging/writing ever in October and I finished 43 posts. It wasn’t anything truly intentional, but I just had a lot to write. To be frank, I have about 10 other posts I haven’t even published yet since I’m trying not to overload my readers with too much each day. The past 2-3 days, I’ve been posting a consistent 2-3 posts a day. I don’t know how I’m going to keep it up, but for some reason, I do.

Well, despite the 43 decent sized posts, I realized I didn’t write more than 15,000 words — less than 1/3 the goal for this novel writing month. I thought “ahhh, I easily did 50,000 words last month”, but not even close! It’s really tough writing that much, I’m realizing. My great friend Crystal told me about it earlier and I was considering doing it this month, but with how things are going at work, I wasn’t sure if I could do it. The other thing that put a little doubt into my head was the fact that I felt like I was writing “quite a bit” with all the blog posts last month & yet, I still failed to break the 15,000 word mark. While it’s not too bad to even get to this mark, I’m wondering if I can reach that elusive 50,000 word goal.

So, I was starting my own novel about the past 10 years of life. It was interupted recently by the switch to writing a book for the parents of all my students and other parents in South Korea on how to make their kids global leaders & get into the best colleges in the world. On top of that, I’ve been asked to write several letters of recommendations from past coworkers and friends along with even editing some student essays of mine who were sending them to me almost daily because of their recent attempts to get into International High Schools. My writing has to take a back seat to all this & most importantly, my daily job, I try to make sure that nothing falls through the cracks in getting people here to South Korea spending a year abroad in a totally foreign environment.

Anyway, I’m still thinking I may do it…if I do, I’m going to need a bunch of these commitments to go away or I’m going to be doing a lot of neglecting to someone or something, let me guarantee you! On top of all this, I just heard a relative having massive brain (Cerebral) hemorrhage recently. I need to find out more… I also need to make sure I treat something a doctor recently said I may have – arthritis… …and see the dentist I’ve been neglecting and get back to running which I’ve been neglecting for a week & people I just saw at an old office I used to work at saying I look like I’ve lost 20 lbs…

Well, I definitely have a lot of fodder to write about, but I wonder if I will have the time….

**One ironic/interesting note: despite it being National Novel Writing Month, the Writers Guild in Hollywood is planning to go on Strike Monday. ^^

Leave a comment

Filed under Korea life, My writings

Leave a Reply

