I think I’m pregnant (or have a rock in my stomach)…and Norman Mailer tells me I’m about to give birth…

Add this blog to your favorites by clicking on any of the icons:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

I feel like I’ve had a bunch of food in my stomach for the past few weeks despite not eating…I even get hungry, but feel like I’ve just eaten a couple hot dogs despite my hunger. I literally feel like I have something in my stomach & I don’t know what to do about it.

Nevertheless, I thought this quote by Mailer was poignant or timely for my stomach’s weird feeling lately:

Writing books is the closest men ever come to childbearing.”

-Norman Mailer

So, I’ve been trying to write a book lately. I think the more I talk about it though, the more likely it won’t get done. I have this funny superstition about talking about things I’m doing that I don’t really want to publicize. The more I talk about it, the more likely it won’t get done. It’s connected with raising peoples’ expectations and letting them down — rather my superstition is that I shouldn’t say something before it’s done. We’ll see….

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Humorous, Medicine, My writings, Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

