Shipping companies and Bezos better start finding ways not to gouge customers…

Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

…before e-books put a HUGE dent into their wallets. While shipping & handling may not be Amazon.com’s bread and butter, it definitely is for UPS, Federal Express and several other large shipping and domestic freight companies. I don’t have the exact numbers in terms of how much money they make off of book sales, but if e-books starts to give the consumer the ability to download their books IMMEDIATELY, then why wait for a hard cover or even soft cover edition that will take at bare minimum several days PLUS the shipping costs.

The impact should be felt quite significantly here or abroad as the world globalizes. For example, I just ordered 12 books from Amazon and I didn’t even think about the e-book option because it’s not in my common mode of thinking. However, if the books I purchased were all available via e-book download, I would of easily saved about $80 in shipping, I wouldn’t be waiting literally almost a month to 45 days for the books. There’s a chance that 3 of the books will take literally 2 months to arrive. The question now to myself I should ask is “why haven’t I been doing more research on e-books?”

Leave a comment

Filed under Advice, Business practices, Communications, Education, Great finds, Interesting reads, Interesting..., Opinions, Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

