The mysterious Gmail Customer Support

As a response to someone who recently commented on my post about Adsense customer support, I thought I would write up what I found about gmail’s customer support since the guy was a little pissed off at Gmail’s customer support.  I don’t blame him now that I’ve went through trying to find it like he did.  I think the following though is a bit more helpful than his frustrations though.  Please note though, there is no email address I can see/find, but you may consider just emailing support@gmail.com and seeing if that gets anyone?

So, here’s what I found:

From what I’m reading, Gmail’s customer support is basically a help page: http://mail.google.com/support/

If you can’t find it there, you may have to go to a help group specific for gmail here:

http://groups.google.com/group/Gmail-Help-Discussion?hl=en

And it looks like if you do post to the discussion group, periodically, they will respond via email. This is what I saw after clicking on “About Contacting Support” on the bottom of the help topics above:

Need to contact our support team? We provide limited email support for a small set of issues, specifically issues that prevent you from using or accessing Gmail. While we do read each email, you’ll only hear from us (generally within a few days) if we need more information to resolve your issue. Please search the Help Center for your issue. If you can’t find it there, we suggest checking out our Known Issues page or asking for help in the Discussion Group.

Of course, they don’t provide that email anywhere on the page.

5 Comments

Filed under Business practices, Interesting..., Online projects, Opinions, Random thoughts, Stupid

5 responses to “The mysterious Gmail Customer Support

  1. Matt

    Yeah I’m pissed off with Google too. If you can’t find a solution to your problem then you have no way of contacting anyone!!!! Unbelievable. They even send you an e-mail confirming your registration and give you a verification code, quote ‘Please keep this email for your records, as it contains an important verification code that you may need should you ever encounter problems or forget your password’ and then offer no where for you to use it to get account information or help!! Ok I forgot my password so Google provide a ‘ I forgot my password ‘ page, they then ask you for the answer to the security question which you must answer correctly else you can’t reset your password, so if you can’t recall your security qustion answer either what do you do? Theres no where else to go! Rant over; but hey Google, why so bloody unhelpful? Pretty amazing as they are supposed to be about communication!!!!

  2. That’s it. I’m canceling our organization’s Gmail account. I can’t get any help or support to fix a glitch on their end that never inserted the “verify your account” link on my admin page, so I can’t send any email.

    Way to go Google. I sense this is a slippery slope and there are more stories like this to come.

  3. Jason

    I have an issue that cannot be answered on their stupid support site either. WTF? It makes no sense that the people who create the system cannot be bothered to aid with customer problems, especially when no one else knows the answer in their lame excuse for a help center!

  4. Troy

    gmail is the worst system I have ever used. My entire account has frozen and will not let me open an email, send an email, browse my folders, etc. I can simply log in and log out….that’s it!
    I hope everyone using the system see’s these rants and raves and becomes aware of just how vulnerable they are right now by using gmail.

  5. I have a problem with opening my gmail.

Leave a Reply

