Thwarted by something interesting…

Do you ever find yourself on a website or webpage wondering “How in the heck did I get here?”  I just had one of those moments when I was on a Journalist organization promoting it’s business/industry website. 

What was I thinking?  Well, I traced my steps back to several websites before where the first site had a mention of a new search engine called Techmeme.**  I didn’t find the purpose behind the search engine initially (not finding the about button quick enough).  So, the crazy in me (yes, I’m pretty crazy like that) told me to do a search for the fun of it.   After giving it a try on a couple search engine marketing related topics and clicking through several sites, I find myself at a PBS site identifying more tips on how to enhance your SEO*.  I click to one of the sources of information for the article/post which turns out to be a discussion list about online news and other media called Poynter online.  I’m curious about who Poynter is and I find it’s a school for journalists supporting the field of journalism education in more ways than one. 

*Was looking for basic sites to teach others who want to enter the industry of search engine optimization
**Techmeme’s about section says:
At this moment, the hottest stories in technology are scattered across dozens of news sites and blogs.
That’s an awful lot of sites for anyone to check.

Fortunately, Techmeme arranges all of these links into a single, easy-to-scan page. It’s auto-generated through a news-picking software system, so updates occur around the clock.
 

Leave a comment

Filed under Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

