Clam Chowder, Fish & Chips and Knife Noodles

Duke\'s Chowder House Seattlekal gooksoo

Food.

It’s why we live.

Lately, it’s been one of the bigger inspirations for me traveling. Yes, it’s very good to see friends and family, but when you’re savoring every spoonful of hat $11 a bowl Duke’s clam chowder, you’re thinking “DAMN, that was expensive…but I’d do it again!” I miss Seattle. I miss the chowder: Duke’s, Ivar’s and plenty of others. Campbell’s Chunky Clam Chowder just doesn’t do it here in Korea.

And the fish and chips! The English rave about their thickly beer battered cuts of fish deep fried with a gallon (or should I say 3.X liters) of oil, but I’ll have Ivar’s fish & chips any day over the Brit’s version of fried batter cod. I’d even settle for Skipper’s version of it versus what I get here in Korea.

Wah, wah, wah…  I’m hearing from some of you telepathetically…  Well, one props I’ll give Korea or at least my local part of the country is “Knife Noodles” if you directly translate it from Korean.  In Korean, it’s “Kahl Gook-Soo”.  Jooyoung used to tell me how good it was and I just didn’t have anything to do with it, but the cold version seasoned up kimchi style will CERTAINLY be one of the things I miss about living here, if I ever do depart.

1 Comment

Filed under Expat, Food, Korea life, Seattle, USA

One response to “Clam Chowder, Fish & Chips and Knife Noodles

  1. jon

    ohhhh Pike Place Chowder
    http://www.pikeplacechowder.com/
    Some of the best in Seattle – easy!

Leave a Reply

