Mispellings driving (a little) traffic to the blog

Add this blog to your favorites:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

mispelling bee

mispelling bee

So, the little experiment worked.  I’m the #1 result on Google when you type in “obama inaugral address” and #5 when you type in strictly “inaugral address.”  In my post titled President Barack Obama’s inaugral address posted on January 20th a few days ago, I wrote to you all that I would test to see if my intentional spelling mistake would garner me a few more hits when people typed in the wrong spelling of the recent Inaugural address by President Barack Obama.  A dictionary will tell you that “Inaugural” includes the ‘u’ in between the ‘g’ and ‘r’ vs. my spelling like this: “inaugral” for the experiment’s purpose.  Even if you type in “president inaugral address“, I’m still #4 in the search engine results page (aka SERP).

I thought there would be a few more typos though.  The two phrases only got me 3 hits each.  The last phrase here didn’t register anything from what I saw on my dashboard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Online projects, Politics, Search Engine Management, SEM, Statistics, Theories by Brandon

Leave a Reply

