Six letters. Many combinations. Possibly the cure to all the world’s problems.

If you liked the post, y not bookmark it by clicking any of the below icons:
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

jims-family

Six letters.

Many combinations.

Possibly the cure to all the world’s problems.

In Korea, this one word makes or breaks peoples’ lives. Without these, many go homeless. With these, many have a roof over their head. For many foreigners or expatriates who date Korean women, it’s our biggest hurdle in getting to know them. However, after we get to know them, our bonds can be tighter than superglue with the Korean women we might love.

The past 3 years, my own one of these failed to be complete. In actuality, my own six word combination was more jumbled than ever before. My personal four some broke down and I consciously wanted to break off a part of the team. However, the other two team members are two of the most important people in my life & to have one person I couldn’t keep a part of the team meant less time with these other precious two.

Just as important as these critical parts of my life, an equally important piece of my life left me more than several years ago. Actually, that piece is not a piece. He’s my brother. He didn’t really leave per se, but we had a falling out. When growing up, we both followed different paths. We weren’t “tight” and we weren’t the type to call each other best friends. However, we loved each other and ironically despite knowing each others’ primary language & being relatively good communicators in life, we couldn’t communicate.

He blamed me. I blamed him.

Since then, he’s grown his own little one of these six letter combinations. After the birth of his second, perhaps he started to realize that he never wanted to see Stella and Cooper ever be separated like we’ve been for the past 3 years. Perhaps he’s just grown up. Perhaps something hit him. I don’t know. Regardless, I teared up the other day for the first time after he wrote me more than a few words for the first time in 3 years.

My mom all these years has asked me to be the “bigger” of the two of us and try to rekindle our relationship. I thought I did, but I gave up after trying a number of times. Maybe I didn’t try hard enough? Again, I don’t know.

Nevertheless, I thank my mom and my dad for being the ones who persistently asked us to reunite. I’m thinking the reason why we’re talking now is because of them.

This six letter word is “Family” which I’m sure you’ve figured out. It represents a lot. Like I said above, it can be the reason why we are successful, but it can be the reason why we fail. In the past 17 years, I feel like because family wasn’t always so solid, I’ve had excuses to not be the Bill Gates of our generation. However, I don’t anymore feel like they are the reason why I have failed. I feel like I have failed them.

Now that I’m in the position to realize it, I feel like I can now make my core family strong again. I can also be successful albeit a few years late. While I’ve struggled thus far to help my sons grow up well & someday hopefully build their own little six word combos, I will forever hope they never have the rift my brother and I had. I missed him a lot. I hope moving forward that we can grow stronger and closer and some day call each other great friends in addition to being “brother.”

I love you Jim. I know you know that, but I really do…

——

By the way, just to be cute, I thought I’d share what I really think what family means:

F – Friend

Your family should be more than just a relationship. Every one in your family should be your best friends. Like our friends who we have no blood ties, we should think of each others’ interests ahead of ours as we hopefully do with our friends. In hard times, we should forgive and in the best of times, we should truly enjoy.

A – Alchemy
The dictionary says “alchemy” is “any magical power or process of transmuting a common substance, usually of little value, into a substance of great value.” Family is that magic that creates more value for us in life whether it be in being there during tough times or doing anything for one another in securing each others’ future happiness. In times where my family needs housing, jobs, or whatever, I will do whatever it takes to make sure they have it including giving up my own.

M – Marriage
We were all born married. Our parents decided to consciously get married before (or sometimes after) we were born. Our brothers and sisters though are tied from the beginning. We should always realize that it’s a bond that family gives us that can never be broken. In life, we can divorce our spouses, but it’s almost impossible to really divorce our family.

I – Infinity
Like the concept above, our families last eternally.

L – Love
What more needs to be said except who else can we turn to for love at all times in our life…at least our family is who loves us always.

Y – Yes
We get “no” enough in life. With family though, they should always (or most of the time) be able to be one to always say “yes” when we are hungry or “yes” when we need to borrow money or “yes” when we want to ask almost anything.

3 Comments

Filed under American life, Communications, Inspirational, Interesting..., Korea life, Korean women, Kyopo - Korean American, Kyopo life, Love, My writings, People, Philosophy, Random thoughts, Rants, Theories by Brandon

3 responses to “Six letters. Many combinations. Possibly the cure to all the world’s problems.

  1. Latina women are sluts,ugly and not sexy

    Fuck dat , family ain’t key to the happiness !!!
    thats bull …I grew up with out a father .So don’t tell me what’s happy .
    ya dig….

    Fuck family ..its overrated !!!

  2. Pingback: Educational Technique Resources » Blog Archive » Dominate Google Rankings Quick and Easy!

  3. confused

    hi, I was just wondering who’s in the picture. Is one of the couple you? or your brother’s family?

Leave a Reply

