Zero to One Million hits (+35,377)

one million plus hitsStarting in February of 2007, I started this little blog with very little in terms of expectations.  At the end of the month, I had a total of 27 views to the blog.  Most of them were probably mine.😉

The month after, I had a whopping 50% increase and jumped to 37 views.  Well, it looks like I increased, but actually I decreased from two hits a day down to one because the month of February was only a short month of blogging.  I think I started somewhere in the middle of the month averaging my views per day to being 2/day.  So, yes, a total of 30 days of work got me a total of a view a day basically.  It was depressing and like many who blog, I’m sure I was wondering “what am I doing?”

Somehow, the 3rd month gave me a little inspiration.  Thanks to wordpress, our posts are not just optimized for the internet, but they also show up in some categories on the blog site where other “wanna be bloggers” are able to see our posts and give their support, if not just their curious fingers clicking on our well thought out post titles. 😉

It took me another 4 months (yes 7 months total) before I hit the 1000 views+ mark.  In September, I had almost doubled what I had in terms of website traffic in one month.  The google sandbox is reality.  It takes a while to get a blog (and a lot of hard work & energy spent) to get it more traffic.  Just a few months after in December, I increased my traffic 800%!!!

increase website traffic 800%

Over the next two years, the monthly totals steadily increased until in 2010, this past January I topped out at over 50,000+ views.

avg traffic month and years

Frankly, I wasn’t as active, but the many posts and images I had thrown up on the blog were steadily climbing the SERPs (search engine results pages) for every term conceivable.  You can read in past posts what were the most popular, but in general, they were:

  1. porcupine quills picture post (I just thought it was an amazing picture when I first saw it)
  2. korean girls (yes, sex sells on the internet even though all I was saying that I thought they are the most attractive; of course I’m biased, I’m Korean)
  3. weeds (looks like people are into drugs.  surprising, i know! this was just about the showtime series that i enjoyed watching while in Korea)

top blog searches all time

Well, I wasn’t really paying attention since I’ve basically retired this blog and moved onto bigger and better things.  However, I just checked recently on the stats because someone was asking about the blog.  It looks like sometime last month, I hit over a million views.  Hooray me!

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Accolades, Announcements, Blogs - Korea Expats, Business, Byung-hyu, Entertainment, Entrepreneurship, Impressive, Inspirational, Just interesting..., Online projects

7 responses to “Zero to One Million hits (+35,377)

  1. fgsdfgfdsfg

    You poop hed you never allowed my past comments.. ur a poo hed

    and I heard ur fat

    have nice day meean fat boy baaring my comment!@

    Fatty!

  2. When you write stupid comments like you just did, why would I allow them? Frankly, I allow anyone who isn’t spamming my blog…so you must of been spamming it. Anyway, I thought I’d just let the world see your most intelligent comment. Yah, I’m fat, like you’re intelligent. Happy commenting elsewhere.

  3. Joy

    He really is intelligent, thinking of new ways to spell “head” and shit. Nice!

    Anyways, I would like to go to Busan in the next few months. Do you know anything of the surf culture there? I’d like to try to attend a surf camp or two but wasn’t sure how much you knew about that. I just ran into your blog when I was Googling something related to Korean addresses.

    Thanks!

  4. Philip von Plato

    Hello,

    My name is Philipp von Plato. I would like to get in touch with you regarding your blog. Is there any e-mail address I could contact you at? I would be grateful for an e-mail at: philipp_von_plato@internations.org.

    Best Regards,

    Philipp

  5. learn korean food easy and educational.
    visit and learn recipes http://www.oliviajasonkim.com ^^

  6. Jellie

    Wow. This is so great. I don’t know when I will reach such views.

  7. Alex

    Wow congratulations on the steady increase. I help businesses build local traffic to their website

Leave a Reply

